Nutty-O Bars

Finally, a snack experiment gone right!

This little experiment started out when I noticed Buddy walking around with marshmallows in his snack cup. Yeah… No idea when he got those or how many he ate… I went into the kitchen to find the marshmallow bag had been hideously murdered and the marshmallows were scattered all over the counter.

“Well…” I sighed, “I guess I have no choice but to make a delicious treat now.”

Normally I’d have just made rice krispie treats, but we didn’t have any rice krispies so I went with the next best thing. Cheerios. Then I pulled out our half empty containers of walnuts, sliced almonds and crushed peanuts. I threw the cheerios and nuts in a giant bowl, microwaved up the marshmallows and 3/4 of a stick of butter and mixed them all together like I normally would do with Rice Krispies.

After mixing them, I pressed the glob into a pyrex dish. Voila – Nutty-o bars! I have to say, they turned out really good! It’s not super sweet or anything. It just tastes like cheerios and nuts with a hint of marshmallow. I think it’s really good and the kids can’t get enough of it.

Cheerios, walnuts, pecans, peanuts and marshmallow

Cheerios, walnuts, almonds, peanuts and marshmallow

Leave a Reply

