Will Write for Skittles

I’ve been considering a slight change of pace with Supermominthemaking. The subject base would remain the same, ranging from my crazy days to my inspirational days and everything in between. What I’ve been considering is a change in my writing style, from my manic, sporadic writing (and sometimes, I’ll admit, seriously wordy), to something more scheduled and controlled. Like every Monday and Wednesday. Or follow themes like I sort of do with my “oh my god” posts.

Why? For money.

By selling ad space on your domain, you can make a few bucks on the side. Depending on how much time and effort you put into your blog, you can make some decent money off of it. The problem is that in order to make “good” money from a blog, you have to do it full time. With overtime. And over-over time. And it takes several years of this to even get to the “successful” point.

That’s my biggest issue with selling ad space for money. I definitely don’t want to make a living from this. I don’t want to do this full-time. Not even part-time. My one and only full-time desire is to be a Mom. I want blogging to stay fun and creative for me.

Another problem is that I would need to relocate myself to a blogging site that allows ads and pay for my own domain. There are a few other minor expenses involved as well.

So where does that leave someone like me? Probably with just enough extra money to buy a big bag of Skittles each month. You’re probably thinking that’s a major waste of time and laughing off this idea altogether. But that’s the thing, I really like skittles… (This leads my imagination to place me curbside in the ghetto in tattered clothes, holding a sign saying, “will write for skittles”.)

My thought was that, if I’m already blogging, would it benefit me to throw up a few ads and make a couple of bucks? Maybe, maybe not. A few things making me lean toward “yes” is that the time I’d need to put into the blog to generate readers I already do through Facebook. I’m constantly socializing with other nutcase… erm… parents. I also wouldn’t mind getting a twitter account for Supermominthemaking (In fact, I… uh… already started one: @sminthemaking). I also already read other blogs, I just never actively try to pull other bloggers and social media lovers back to me. I think it’s do-able if I really give it a try. And who knows, if I do well and build a big enough base, maybe I’ll make enough money to buy TWO big bags of skittles a month.

What do you think, readers? Do I sell out for something I’m doing anyway, or do I just keep doing what I’m doing?

8 thoughts on “Will Write for Skittles

  1. Mike has actually asked if I could earn money blogging, and I gave him a rundown of the scenario you just wrote about. His reaction was, “Well, that’s some money for doing something you love, right?” You love writing, you’re passionate about your family, I’d say go for it. The only reservations I’ve had are the same as yours: does earning money for it make it a job, and then how much time are you willing to sacrifice from your main job (being a mom) to make it work? The biggest thing for me about places like this is the sharing factor. Sharing stories and lessons is invaluable, in my opinion – especially for moms. It’s really important to normalize parenting and to have a place where moms can laugh about the craziness. I’m actually leaning towards this idea as soon as I have time, because I plan on branching off of it for my eventual “career”. The worst that happens is you can’t buy your Skittles and you abandon the idea in a year or so. BUT even in that unlikely event, you’ll still have the experience, and when you’re a writer, that makes all the difference.

    • Fantastic points, Rachel! I am forever grateful for my writing experience with this blog. Supermominthemaking has proven to be invaluable to me, both as an outlet and as an experience booster. I read a few of my first posts in 2011, and while they’re entertaining, I remember seriously struggling to come up with the witty words and quirky comments. Now, I don’t have to struggle nearly as much for something that is coming more naturally to me through every post.
      And you pinpointed my feelings exactly: “It’s really important to normalize parenting and to have a place where moms can laugh about the craziness.” I just love your writing, Rachel. WHEN you begin regularly working on your blog, I’ll be the first to name-drop you in my own posts. I absolutely love your writing. 🙂

      Thanks for the input!

  2. ^^ Pretty much everything Rachel just said. I am in the process of completely starting a new blog; one that will be more of a space for tips and ideas on green living, frugal living, dealing with a deployment, and the reality of having two totally conflicting food allergies in one family. I am hoping that to become a certified personal trainer once my kiddos are all in school, and would love for my blog to be a platform for healthy living, along with a place to share stories about our insane life. I would say, make a super simple time commitment that you think you will keep, and see what can come out of it. Like, 30 minutes after the kiddos go to bed, every other day. If you see somewhat positive results, even marginal, increase that to an hour, or to 30 minutes daily. If trying to stick to that seems like too much right now, then I would say hold off for a little while and try again later. Like you said; your life is only as complicated as you make it 🙂

    • Your blog sounds like a great idea! I recently started to get active on twitter and I’m finding that there are a LOT of men and women with a LOT of the same sentiments as you have (green living, healthy living, living frugal (ME!), surviving parenthood (MEEE!), etc.). You can easily have a great following base there!
      And those are great ideas for time commitment. I’ll try that! 🙂

  3. I value EVERYONE’s input on this post specifically! PLEASE… if you read this from the shadows and want more, let me know! I need y’all to come out of the woodwork and tell me what you think about my blog so I’ll know if this will be a worthwhile endeavor. Thanks in advance! 🙂

  4. I had a blog with ads on another site. It only pays off if your readers click on the ads. They don’t have to buy anything just click on it. You may not mention this to your reader per your agreement with he ad company’s. Also you need to set up your tax number before payment is rendered. It was just To much headache for me. I closed that blog and found WordPress. I like it better here.

    • I didn’t realize someone had to click on the ads, good to know! I remember I had to apply for a tax number when I became the executor of an estate and boy… WHAT. A. HEADACHE. You hit the nail right on the head, there. This is definitely something to consider as I decide whether or not to “sell out”. I’m doing a little test run for now and I made a Facebook and Twitter page and I’m trying to post regularly and get more active in the blogsphere. If it doesn’t get me any extra attention then I’m not going to bother with it and just keep writing Supermom for the fun of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

