A Turn of Events [part 2 to Lion’s Den]

In a surprising turn of events, Husband has asked me if he could take Peanut to the hospital tomorrow. As much as it pained me to let go of the reins, I said yes.

You see, Husband is the last person you would ever find in a hospital, voluntarily or otherwise. He is a wonderful man, but he just can’t handle healthcare or healthcare buildings. He avoids them like the plague. That’s why this request really struck me. I think he knows how hard this is for me to go back and have to fight another fight for our Peanut.

Normally I would be afraid to let someone else take care of her because I need to be there in the midst of everything and I need to know what’s going on. But this time I just don’t know if I can go without getting genuinely upset. My reserves of “strong Mom” are pretty low, and as much as I hate to admit it, I could use some help.

So, I will be spending the remainder of the night coaching husband on everything he will be doing tomorrow down to the way he walks if I’m not satisfied with it. He will be bringing every single comfort item and snack I pack for Peanut without complaint. He will be getting up at a god awful early hour to get ready and get down to the hospital to check in by 8 AM.

He has been graciously allowing me to call the shots. Once again, I’m so grateful to have such a wonderful husband. He will be calling me with updates and taking notes along to pass on to the different clinics that I was going to “do business with” while I waited for the MRI to finish.

I’m terrified that something is going to slip through his fingers or he will forget to ask something, but he kindly pointed out that I need to give him an equal share of the parenting once in a while.

He’s right. I can’t do everything.

So, I will fortunately/unfortunately be sitting this trip out tomorrow and biting my nails down to nothing while I wait eagerly by the phone for calls from Husband to update me on Peanut’s progress.

One thought on “A Turn of Events [part 2 to Lion’s Den]

Leave a Reply

