Super cleaner!

This post is how I know I’ve totally officially gone 180* from my laid back partying drinking days.

Vinegar is my new favorite cleaning solution. I’m honestly excited to use it again.

Have you seen this stuff in action? HAVE YOU?! It’s insane! I don’t know how I didn’t know about this before…

I’ve had so many issues trying to find a good cleaning solution for my kitchen floor. It’s a really pocky linoleum floor that just loves to collect dirt. It always looks filthy even though I mop the floor pretty often. As a type A obsessive cleaning/organizing kind of person, this doesn’t go over well with me. I can’t just let it go. I know, with a husband, three kids and a dog I shouldn’t even fight it. But I just can’t help it. I hate it.

A while back my Mom told me to run vinegar through my coffee machine and it’ll clean out all of the yucky gunk and make it flow faster. The stink of hot vinegar is so sharp it’ll make your eyes water, but getting free flowing coffee faster in the morning was absolutely worth the suffering. Then a couple of months ago I walked into my in-law’s house to the smell of vinegar and found my MIL wiping down her floor with vinegar. I hadn’t even thought of this!! Genius! I’m probably the last person on the planet to figure this out, but I still had to rave about it now that I’ve finally done it.

It was so incredibly easy and fast to clean the floor. I took a bristly scrub brush (like what you’d use to scrub fingernails or vegetables), a squirt bottle, a sponge and a bucket of hot water. I filled the squirt bottle with vinegar and squirted as I cleaned. I figured it’s less wasteful and stinky this way. I didn’t have to wait for it to soak in or anything, I scrubbed right away and almost immediately the dirt came out. Then I wiped the muddy water away and rinsed over that spot with fresh water with the sponge. Voila.

For the first time in years my kitchen floor was literally sparkling and my Type A was satisfied.
(and now that I think of it, I don’t have to worry about the harsh chemicals from cleaners bothering the kid’s skin now either! Win/win!)

Clean enough to eat off of!

Leave a Reply

