So much to be thankful for!

At the beginning of the month a friend of mine challenged all of her friends and family to post something every day on Facebook that they’re thankful for until Thanksgiving.

I had seen this for a few years and thought it was a nice idea but never did it.  This year I decided I should give it a try.  With everything that’s been going on over 2011 I thought it would be nice to remind myself of all of the good things in my life instead of dwelling on the bad.  Not that I dwell on bad all the time, but I know I don’t look at the glass half full nearly as much as I should because, I’ll admit, I’m a pessimist at heart.

It’s only been six days since I started (I started a day late), but I feel like I’m already having a more positive outlook on life.  Here are the things I’ve posted thus far:

Day 1:
I’m so thankful that, as of today, Husband and I have officially paid off every last penny of our school loans!!! Although it hurts to pay off such a large amount, the decision was an easy one when we figured out we were paying $600/yr in interest for just ONE loan. I’m SO thankful we could afford to make a decision like this. I’m SO thankful to get rid of our second most expensive monthly bill!!!

Day 2:
Today, after seeing only a part of this video, I was brought to tears. It made me very VERY thankful to know that our kids will never know abuse of ANY form from their parents. I am thankful to be raising our three beautiful kids with Husband in a healthy, caring and encouraging home.

Day 3:
Today, I’m thankful to have such great friends in ‘M’ and ‘M’.  Today they were willing to get up early and get their kids ready to come visit the kids and I. But that’s nothing compared to the bags FULL of kids clothes, toys, a crib, a washing machine and more things than I can list that they’ve given us out of the goodness of their hearts. They’re two of the most generous and wonderful people I know and I’m so proud to call them my friends. We really appreciate you guys! 🙂

Day 4:
Today I’m thankful that Husband and I got all of our Christmas shopping done in one trip for Buddy, Peanut, Bear AND Remmy. Getting this done early saves on a LOT of stress and drive/shopping time. This is time we’ll now be spending playing games and having fun with our family instead!

Day 5:
Today I’m thankful for our kind, tolerant and helpful fellow parishioners at our church. We took all three kids to church for the first time ever (rather than going split like we usually do) and they were always ready and willing to lend a helping hand if one or all three of the kids got too wound up. It really makes me happy to know that there are still so many genuinely good and helpful people in the world willing to help out a stranger.

Day 6:
Today, I’m thankful for Buddy’s goofy sense of humor, his ability to Love with his whole heart and his sense of wonder at the world around him. He finds humor, happiness and excitement in the simplest things and it reminds me of the things that are truly important in life. Live, Laugh, Love.

So, there you have it.  My list so far.  Here are a few things my friends have posted.  (I love going to my friend’s pages and looking for their ‘thankful’ for the day.  It makes me so happy to see so many positive thoughts circulating instead of the usual frustrations and venting sessions!)

**Who would I be kidding if I said anything besides my job first? In an economy that has nearly one in ten people unemployed, I am lucky enough to not only have a job, but to have one that I love. I have awesome coworkers, I learn something new every day, I see the impact of what I do on a daily basis and I am never morally conflicted. The last two years have been by far the happiest of my life.

**Today I’m thankful for our house. We wanted a place for our family to grow, and something that was completely ours to do whatever we wish. On Halloween a few years back, we first saw our house was for sale. It took a lot of work and patience, but the house is ours, our family is bigger, and we already have so many memories here.  I love our home 🙂

**Today I am thankful for the veterans who have so honorably served our country and who have allowed me and my children to live in a free and democratic country. THANK YOU.

I think I’d like to continue this even after Thanksgiving.  I encourage everyone to hop on this bandwagon and at least give it a try until Thanksgiving.  You don’t have to make it ‘Facebook official’.  Maybe try to think of one positive thing in your life before you get out of bed in the morning.  Maybe make it a goal to do one good thing for a complete stranger before you go to bed.  Something as simple as a smile can brighten a stranger’s day.  However you want to do it, just give it a try.  You’ll be surprised at how quickly it will improve your mood and your outlook on life.  Its helped this pessimist so far!

One thought on “So much to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

