Talented? I think so.

Have you ever found yourself multitasking with two or more things you never realized was possible to do at the same time?  I’m not talking about that whole hop on one foot while patting your head and rubbing your belly thing.  That’s child’s play.  I’m talking about some serious brain overload tasks that no normal human being should be able to consciously do.

This evening I was kind of zoning out on the computer and catching up on Facebook.  Buddy came over and climbed into the recliner with me.  I only just barely even noticed him there because he was sitting so still.  A couple minutes later I realized he was still there, sitting quietly and attentively.  I suddenly I realized I was holding one of his books in my hand.  Then I realized it sounded quieter than it just was.

*holy sh!t.  Was I just reading him this book?!*

Buddy looks up at me expectantly and points at the book like he wants me to continue.  I look closer and realize I’m almost done with ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’.

Wow.. I was totally just reading and reading.  I may have just been blindly reciting a book that I’ve had memorized for ages while reading a few random posts on Facebook, but I’m still damn proud of what I just did.  I’m the type of person that can’t talk about dinner while filling in my address on a mailing envelope without accidentally writing down “Chicken dinner, WI 5XXXX.”  I CAN NOT talk and read at the same time without getting my brain all fershimmeled and kittywhompus.

If you’re wondering, fershimmeled and kittywhompus are both invented words, lovingly created by my dear husband.  Unfortunately, they’ve rubbed off on me.  They just seem to be the perfect adjective when no other word can quite come up to par.  (side note: I just asked husband how to spell kittywhompus.  He came and scowled at my spelling and corrected me as if this was such an obvious mistake and I should be ashamed of myself.  It’s k-i-d-d-i-e-whompus.  My bad.)

Anyway, back to my ability to read and read.  The fact that I was suddenly able to read these two things at once brought me to two possible conclusion.

I’m either totally awesomely talented, or losing my mind.

3 thoughts on “Talented? I think so.

  1. I assumed they were originally words of their own accord at some point or another, but in our house I think they were slowly recreated to mean ‘messy’ ‘messed up’ ‘scattered’ ‘disorganized’ ‘sloppy’ and anything related. To us, regardless of their original meaning and spelling, I think they’ve become universal slag. That second link is interesting. I read the “catawampus’ one, then ended up reading on to the other words. I haven’t even heard of most of them.

Leave a Reply

