Until DEATH?!

Today is husband and I’s three-year anniversary.  It’s funny, I kind of didn’t even think about it until today.  We recently went on a little vacation as our gift to each other and I haven’t thought about the actual day itself since then.  But, here we are.  It’s our anniversary.  We have nothing special planned, no dinner to go out to, no movie to go see, no picnic, no night in, no special *ahem* bedtime plans…  Yet, I’m surprisingly okay with this.

For our first anniversary I wanted to go all out.  It was our first anniversary as a married couple after all.  *tee hee!*  For our second anniversary I wanted to do something fun.  I was still excited, but I wasn’t so over the top “STOP. EVERYTHING. and celebrate our marriage!” then.  This year, we decided no gifts (mostly because both of our birthdays are right at the beginning of September) and nothing special.  We just wanted to get away and enjoy each others company this year.

We’ve gotten to the point where we don’t even care about gifts because each others company is gift enough alone.  (As cheesy as that sounds, it’s true.)  I’m positive that the same can be said for many couples out there.  For parents, for soldiers and their significant others they have to leave behind, couples that have to spend long periods of time apart because of work or family and so on.  When you find someone who you love so much that you want to spend the rest of your life with them, it’s hard to lose quality time together.  When you do finally get to spend time together, rather than spending that small window of time giving each other gifts and parading around town, you’re just happy to be with them.  You don’t really care where you are or what you’re doing.

also…
It’s amazing what kids can do to make you appreciate each other.

Seriously.

We heard from everyone how you never have time for each other anymore.  I knew it was true, but I don’t think I realized just HOW busy kids keep you.  You know how you think, *Well, we’ll have time together after they go to bed.*  You’re WRONG.  You’re either too tired to look at each other, or you spend that time cleaning up the enormous pile of toys that you forgot you even owned from every corner of the house.  By the time you can get a minute together it’s 10:30 and you just want to go to bed.

But back to the anniversary.  WOW did I get sidetracked…

I was thinking about how we’ve only been married for three years.  In high school that seemed like such a long time!  I was thinking about it today and I weighed three years against the phrase “until death do us part.”  Now three years seems like nothing!  Husband’s grandparents recently celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary.  That’s worth wow-ing over.  50 years.  Granted divorce wasn’t such a quick solution to marriage problems back then as it is today.  Still though… impressive!  I’m only half as old as the time that they’ve been married.  I can hardly remember some of my childhood.  I mean that’s a LONG time to be together.  On one hand I’m thinking how amazing it is that I get to be with husband for that long.  That 25 years down the road we might be walking our own kids down the aisle.  But then I thought… *wait wait wait, I’m skipping 25 years of marriage.  What happens in between there?*  I suddenly stopped and really started thinking.  *What about all that time in between now and when we see our first grandchildren?  OR great-grandchildren?!*  It kind of freaked me out.  Not in a way that I want to run out the door yelling, “I WANT FREEDOM!!!”  But that I never actually seriously stopped to think about those years in between.  *Until death?!  That’s a really long time!*  What are we gonna do until then?  Now I really respect his grandparents.  50 years… wow wow wow…

Now that I have truly comprehended the amount of time we will be dedicated to one another, I can’t help but be curious.  I always talk about building a house one day and getting more dogs and possibly having more kids.  SO much can happen between now and then though.  Hell, so much can happen in the next 5 years!  I think back five years ago and things are so drastically different I’d never have thought I’d be where I am today.

The one benefit to my realization is that now that I have come to terms with my “life sentence” with husband, I’m happy I get to spend it with him.  I can’t help but think, “So long as it’s with him, nothing else matters.”  I couldn’t have been luckier in finding, and falling in love with a kinder, funnier, harder working man.  He is genuinely one of those guys that you want to be around.  His charisma is contagious and his generosity is unending.  He has already altered my life for the better in so many more ways than one.  I only hope that in the next 50 years I can do half as much for him as he has already done for me.

August 23, 2008

2 thoughts on “Until DEATH?!

Leave a Reply

