The Traveling Circus

Sometimes I’m amazed at the amount of work and especially stress that goes into traveling with a family.

Tomorrow Husband and I will be heading out of state to my cousin’s baby shower.  It will be a 2 hour drive, 3-4 hour visit, and 2 hours back home.  I’ve been spending a good portion of the evening packing and preparing for the trip.  Getting food, snacks and drinks ready for Buddy.  Getting some frozen breastmilk out to bring along to bottle feed Peanut and Bear.  Bringing bibs, rags, diapers, wipes, creams and changing pads.  Not to mention putting their clothes out the night before and packing their spare clothes when they get their first set of clothes dirty… then a backup for a backup when they get those dirty.  THEN there’s the pack-n-play for naptime for buddy which obviously includes his favorite blanket and lovey (either “Billy buffalo” or “Sammy snake”).

The morning of a trip usually consists of a lot of last minute double checks to make sure we’re loaded up and ready to go.  “Did you grab the diaper bag?” “where’s their nook?” “can you get his shoes on?” “I can’t find the keys!”  Then five minutes on the road, after an entire evening and full morning’s worth of preparation for the kids you realize you forgot your sunglasses on the bedroom dresser.  DAMN IT!

If you think that’s bad, you should see overnight trips.

I know exactly what some of you are thinking. “It’s just a day trip, why are you bringing your whole house?!”  Because if we don’t bring something, THAT, of course, is when we will need it.  Example:  Every single time I forgot spare clothes when we just had Buddy, he would end up pooping and leaking.  I don’t just mean the normal “edge of the onesie” poop leak.  No.  This was the mother load of poops.  Out the sides, filling the pants, up the back, filling every crevice, nook and cranny in it’s path.  Every. Time.  It’s like kids know when you’re traveling and save all their poops for one enormous eruption in the presence of our family/friends.  Then comes the nearly impossible task of changing your poop-covered child in someone else’s home.  Since it’s usually a house without babies there’s no changing table so you end up on their bathroom floor.  You find yourself thinking, “I hope they cleaned their floor.”  Then realize that you’ve got a baby covered in poop and laugh because you know they’re probably thinking, “I hope they don’t get poop on the floor.”  Thanks kids…

Negative stuff aside, I’m always excited to see family/friends.  It’s always wonderful seeing people, and it’s worth the hassle of packing and preparing three babies for the trip.  The absolute best thing about visiting family with babies is that you show up and your babies disappear.  Well, at least until it’s time to change that eruption diaper… *sigh*

Just yesterday husband and I jumped in the van “quick” with the family to do some last minute shopping.  As we got in the van I said to him, “Wow we’re getting good at this!  That only took us like ten minutes to get everyone ready!”  Uhhh… that’s pretty sad when ten minutes is fast.  I truly truly miss the days when we could just get in the car and go.  Those were the days…

4 thoughts on “The Traveling Circus

  1. “I truly truly miss the days when we could just get in the car and go.” I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately! It used to be so easy to go anywhere. Now we have to plan it out a lot more. And amen to packing the house! I’m already planing a mental list of what we’ll need to bring in July!!

    • OH MY GOD. I can’t even imagine the planning going on in your head for that trip. Buddy got his own suitcase when we flew to Colorado for a long weekend. I just couldn’t fit everything I wanted in a diaper bag, and I was too selfish to give any space in my own suitcase lol. God speed girl. 😉

  2. I am sooooo grateful that you made the time for the long trip!! We were all so happy to see you guys. The girls are adorable, and it was fun watching Buddy and Lucy play. So glad that family is important to you 🙂

    • Absolutely!!! I hate getting ready and all the hassle that goes into traveling, but it’s always worth it when you get there. (You’ll never catch me saying that during preparations though. :P)
      I’m glad you got a chance to finally meet the girls!

Leave a Reply

